Again... new lens and Namdaemun

Saturday, September 6, 2008

Today we went to Seoul to go to Costco and of course we went to Namdaemun again. Kyle and I ended up buying me a macro lens for the camera. I am so excited to get out and try it tomorrow. Namdaemun was crazy busy again, but next time I will try and take pictures so you can fully understand the extent of the busy-ness.

We saw something really sad today though while we were there. Last time, we saw a man with no legs pulling himself around on the ground with a rollie-thing and a stereo in front of him playing music. He didn't seem to be asking for money or anything. Today, we saw the same guy (he has something like inner tubes around where his legs are supposed to be) and we saw another guy just the same. He was a little worse though having problems with one of his arms. Then our hearts broke. We saw a guy pulling himself along the ground with nothing. He could not move really and he was pulling his crutches beind him. He had a peice of plastic on the ground for his face so it would not get scraped and cut, but it wasn't really doing the job very well. Everyone who spoke his language was just standing there staring at him. The guy had nothing and even his bandages were being pulled off by the dragging. It was the saddest thing I have seen in a long time. He dragged himself through a puddle even. If there was anything we could have done for him we would have, but we don't speak the language and we can't call and ambulance to help because we don't know how to tell them where in Namdaemun we are, if they even speak English. The image of this man has been burned into my mind and I can't stop thinking about how sad it was and how I wish I could have done something.

We met up with friends today as well. We did our regular go to Seoul and have McDick's breakfast and then Jennell (a friend from Prov) came to meet us and then we went to Namdaemun. From there, once we finished, we met up with Alicia and Erik (more friends from Prov... newly engaged since they got back from their holidays in Kenya) and had lunch at a Mexican restaurant. The food was sooooooo good. The salsa tasted the same as Cafe Mexico in Victoria, but the quality of the food was amazing. This was also the first day in over 4 months that I have had a cocktail, so I made sure to order a large raspberry belini. The guacamole was phenomenal at this place as well. You get unlimited chips and salsa too.

After we said bye to them, Alicia and I have planned to get together for a shopping trip soon, we headed to Costco and met up with Krista (another Prov friend). The five of us (Kyle, Me, Matt, Jennell and Krista) did the Costco thing, I got my Dill Pickles (thank goodness) and we said our byes and headed home. They are going to come and visit us some weekend soon. I am excited about that.

Tomorrow we are going to a Festival here in town with a band and music. It should be a lot of fun and I will post pictures. Until then, good night or good morning, whichever it is, we miss you all.

0 comments:



 
...Adventures of K & A... - by Templates para novo blogger