Some Funny Stories

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Hey All

Wow, been a while again. Sorry about that. Been busy. I have been working a winter break class at work part of the week and the adult class and for some reason I have been extra tired lately. Finding it hard to be motivated to do very much at all. Kind of annoying, but I guess that's just life right now.

Work has been great. My kids are adorable and everyday it gets closer to leaving I realize more and more how much a part of me is going to stay behind with them and my coworkers. One of my coworkers, Kate, is actually resigning and our last day working together is tomorrow. It wouldn't be till the first week of February, but Kyle and I are on vacation after tomorrow until Feb. 5. I am really sad about not working with her anymore because she is an amazing coworker. She always makes us laugh and says many funny things (some completely inappropriate without knowing it) and she is always able to make everyone happy. Love her.

Classes have been good. They all got changed around a little while ago so I lost half of my classes to Matt and got half of his. I was pretty happy with the changes, except I don't like some of the boys in my new classes because the attitude is a little over the top. One boy, mP3 won't even really talk to me. When he wants to get my attention (even though he can fully speak the words and in English) he waves a paper in the air at me till I look. I ignore him on purpose because I don't think I should be treated like that. Today he was a little better, but still lacks in the listening department. I have to explain things like 5 times to the whole class just to have them understand, but then after that I have to explain (not just to him, but all the boys who sit in the back) the same thing 5 more times because they just weren't listening. Usually they are too busy writing awful things into their electronic dictionaries for translating or playing some sort of game or talking about me in Korean or just looking out the window.

I did have a funny conversation with one of my classes the other day. I love animal sounds and after learning once what animals sounded like in French, I decided I wanted to know what they sound like in Korean. So I asked my kids.... here it goes... please read them literally as they are spelled so that you can hear it properly...

Dog: mung-mung or wal-wal

Cat: yowng yowng

Baby chicken: bee-yuck bee-yuck

Cow: ooo meh ooo meh

Frog: gaggle gaggle

Sheep/Goat: meh meh

Rooster: Coke-ie-oh co co co Coke-ie-oh co co co

Duck: gwack gek gwack gek


They make me laugh. My favourite are frogs, roosters and dogs. When do dogs ever say "mung-mung" ha ha ha ha. We, me and my students, had a fun time laughing back and forth at each other because for each sound they made I had to make it in "english" for them. I forgot to write down pig, so I will get that tomorrow!!

Also, in my youngest class, I have a whole new class of beginners, they call me "Sam", which is supposedly short for the Korean word for teacher which is "sonsaengnim" and I actually answer to it now. The first time they did it they were saying it over and over again and I didn't even look at them till they starting yelling and waving papers, but then I realized they meant me. It was funny. But, that is not my story. One of the boys needed to use the bathroom and didn't know how to ask me in English. So, he walked up to my desk and motioned for me to lean in closer to him and down to his level and then he pointed down and violently at his "private" area. I felt awkward/suprised at the situation and what someone in our culture would have thought and said "yes, go to the bathroom".

Another story, in my most advanced class one of the students had to read a portion of a story that went like this "What will happen to the little children who play there and the old people who sit on the park benches and feed the pigeons?" and he said "What will happen to the little-ah childrens who play there and-ah the old people who sh*t on the park beenchees and feed the piggins". It was quite funny. I laughed to myself.

Matt and I have been spending time with our adult class outside of work. We really enjoy them so we have taken them out for Dak Galbi and to the movies, etc. We wanted to go the last showing at night of one of the movies and one of the students was not allowed to be out so late, but he called his Mom and said he was with his English teachers and put Matt on the phone, so she changed her mind and gave him a house key and said just come back whenever. The way to a Korean parent's heart.... just tell them you are with your English teacher. Ha.

Last story and then I need to go clean my pig-sty of an apartment.... Matt and I wandered down to the "import store" in the market here in Wonju. Not really a store more a conjested conglomeration (like that one Matt) of nick-nacks from all over.... but we were really excited to see some things. I bought Nutella... so excited. And some funny slippers for Kyle which he hasn't seen yet and doesn't know I bought him. They are bear feet with claws..... ha ha ha. Anyways, we saw cranberry juice and it was Ocean Spray. We were really excited until we saw the price. You know the large bottles you can buy at home??? Well, it was that size and they were charging an outrageous $25!!!!!!!!!!! $25!!!!!!! $25! Yes you read it right!!!! We were shocked and took a picture on the cell phone. Yikes... talk about inflation!!!

Anyways... I need to do the dishes that have been piled in our sink for a few days. Really unmotivated to wash them lately since it is just as cheap to eat out as it is to eat home and eating out is easier.... and I have to fold the laundry that has piled too high on the back of our couch.

Bye for now!!! I will write again before vacation and let you know our plans!

0 comments:



 
...Adventures of K & A... - by Templates para novo blogger