Some Pics from Today

Sunday, August 31, 2008





Kids playing in a fountain by City Hall. Kyle took this picture.











Another really cool picture that Kyle took. Not sure where, but I think near City Hall in Matt's area of the city (Musil-dong)














Another cool shot by Kyle.
















Another photo by City Hall courtesy of my husband.














Another set of highrises by another part of our apartment area (Dangu-dong) and the lighting outside from the street light makes it look like fall. the leaves are still green.







Picture of some of the highrises close to our apartment















Playing with cars... I mean lights on cars. Mom told me never to play with cars.








Another shot from our roof.









Sunset from our roof.












Kyle's disco-fever-maniac shadow















A cool picture of a dragonfly. Kyle took one too and I like his better, but I forget where he stored it on the computer. So, you have to look at mine.

Busy Day on Rodeo Drive

9am in the morning my phone starts vibrating and I am still half asleep. I lie there in a daze trying to figure out what the sound is. I figure out that its the phone and I reach over and try to answer the lamp. Well... after that wake up I was definitely not falling back asleep. Good thing it was Kate calling me to say that we were leaving to go shopping on Rodeo Drive in an hour. So tired. I climbed out of bed, stumbled around for a bit, checked facebook because I am addicted and then played DS. after about 30 minutes, decided to get dressed, brush my teeth and my hair and do the rest of the morning duties (ie. have a cup of tea).

I said bye to Kyle for the day and I was off. We waited for Judy down by Rodeo Drive. She arrived about 30 minutes later. We then walked around many stores, many the same from home but three times the price, and some Korean clothing stores. I will go back there to buy something soon. I bought some cucumber face cream at The Face Shop (not a typo, they have a Face Shop here) and a belly button ring. Which I am sure no one has ever even looked at here since the packages were stapled down and dusty... oh well. I liked it a lot, so I bought and made sure it was surgical steel. It is good to shop with Koreans!! They can ask these things for me!! Also, I was teaching Judy and Kate how to tell the difference between real Louis Vitton & Guess bags so that they don't get ripped off. In one store, I told Kate that it was fake so she asked the store clerk if it was real or fake and the woman was afraid to answer because she knew that I knew the difference. She told them it was fake. Ha. I am going to buy myself a good knock-off bag soon. And a couple for some people at home. They are pretty good knock-offs. Well made.

We stopped for some ice cream at Baskin Robbins and then shopped for a little while longer. After that we went for lunch at the cafe by my apartment. We chatted about our Hakwon for a while and about Princeton, ate many many tomatoes and then were off to meet Kyle and Matt at E-Mart. The girls and I parted ways there. We shopped for some groceries (it was insane in there this afternoon) and then came home. I crashed. Then had a shower, ate some food and then Kyle and I took some pictures. Now, he is playing "Worms" on the DS and I am writing on here. I think I am going to go lay down and eat my bagel with peanut butter (thanks Mom) and watch some TV. I will post some more pictures again now. Enjoy!! The girls and I had so much fun together that we are going to get together again sometime soon and watch a movie. I think they enjoy practicing their English with me. I enjoy being around some girls!!!!!!!

Have a good night.



UPDATE: I forgot to write that I went to a pet store today and was playing with some really lonely kittens. It broke my heart. As soon as I put my finger through the cage they were purring and pushing their heads into the bars and crying and trying to grab onto me. I stayed and played with them for about 20 minutes. The woman is charging $300 for them. Insane. But she gives the dogs in there such great treatment, but the cats, not so much. Makes me so angry.

Kyle was with Matt today taking pictures with the new lens over by city hall. He had a lot of fun. You can see the pictures just above this post.

Pictures from the new Lens....

Saturday, August 30, 2008





This is the $9 bus ride that we take to and from Seoul all the time now. Pretty nice for $9.











World Cup Mall & Stadium















This is part of Techno-Mart... yes, only part.
















A cool shot showing off the wide angle.
















A nice picture of a small part of Seoul









This is outside the 10th floor of techo-mart. The above picture was taken in the same place










This is techno-mart... you can't even see all the floors in this picture, but it gets the point across.

Seoul and Namdaemun... again.

Today, Matt, Kyle and myself went to Seoul. We got on the 8:00am bus ride and were on our way. Kyle and Matt did their normal talking, this time more about politics than anything else. While I listened to music on the iPod the majority of the way. Not that I didn't want to hear about politics because I would love to learn more about it, but just not at 8am in the morning. My brain is not functioning properly (Dad... I know what you're thinking... you're mean).

When we arrived in Seoul, luckily avoiding all of the morning rush hour traffic, we headed right for Namdaemun Market. We put more money on our T-Money cards (which Matt accidentally spent twice as much as he needed at one stop by trying to go "out" the "in" section, so he paid in twice, oops). It was much easier to find our way around the market this time. We knew exactly where we wanted to go. We went down to the underground market which we missed last time, definitely didn't miss much. We headed back up to ground level again and went down "camera lane". This place is a photographers dream or anyone who loves taking pictures. There is seriously like 20 or more stores in a row with just camera stuff and then across one section there is a couple more and an underground place that has a thousand more places. We went to one store, searching for the Canon 10-22 wide angle lens that Kyle and I wanted, and they quoted us $690. Which, is reasonable and comparable to the prices we found online at home. We said we would think about. We thought we would go back because that was a good price, but then we went one more store down to a guy that we really like. He had a used lens, in perfect condition, with lens hood and filter included for $620. So, we took it right there. Saving more money than we thought we would (since we would have had to buy the lens hood and the filter seperately) we decided to also buy a tripod. So, no more using Kyle as much human tripod of justice. He named himself.

We ended up buying what we came for in a matter of 15 minutes of being at our destination. So, we decided to go through some of the other stores with Matt since he was looking for his graduated lens. We went into one store that had a wide selection of lenses, but it smelled so bad that we couldn't even look and had to leave. It was awful. I have never had to do that before, but I just could not handle it. It was so bad that when you breathed in through your mouth you could taste it. I can't even describe the smell... maybe mouldy leather... or something like that. Gross.

We walked around and didn't find what he wanted at the time, so we headed off to Techno-Mart. This place is insane. 10 floors of electronics. 4 floors for just cameras and lenses. Nikon and Canon mostly, but the place was insane to walk through. We took some pictures... as you can see in the previous post!! Your ears pop as you go up to the top floor. While there, Kyle and I found the second thing that we went into Seoul for. We bought our Nintendo DS. We got it plus 4 games for a total of $240. Such a good deal. We got Mario Kart, Mario Brothers, Yoshi Land and Worms. We were nervous we could not change it to English, but I fiddled with it enough on the bus (by fiddle I mean going through every menu clicking on everything possible), I was able to change it to English. So happy.

After that, we headed over to the World Cup Stadium. It was so hot outside, but we managed to walk around the entire thing. A little disappointed because we couldn't go in, but that was mostly because they were getting ready for a soccer game tonight. We decided that we are going to go into Seoul on October 4th to watch a game. Pretty excited about that too.

We got back into Wonju at around 7:15pm, completely exhausted since Seoul seems to always have that affect on us. Oh yeah, while in Seoul we didn't have any problems on the subways besides some ajumas (old married women) giving us dirty looks and we met a girl who is studying here and has only been here for 3 days. She looked so lost wandering around techno-mart looking for sim card for her world phone. Poor girl. Wish we could have helped more. We sat around at home for a while and dropped off our stuff and then went out to the Italian place for dinner. This place just opened and we have heard good things about it. The food is good, not great, but good. We got free drinks, which was nice, but we left shortly after eating. I think we will go again and try other things on the menu. Kyle had a spaghetti gratini thing that had really strong cheese on it and I had a margarita pizza (cheese and baby tomatoes on a fajita type shell). I really enjoyed my pizza.

I am going to go an upload some photos for you all to see and I am also going to go and play the DS for a while. Tomorrow's agenda.... I am going out with a couple girls from my work. Just for a little while in the afternoon and then hopefully just come home and relax. Next weekend... I think we are headed for Costco. I need more dill pickles.

Some more Pictures

Tuesday, August 26, 2008



A picture that Matt took of me when I was sweating to death playing badminton. Not a big fan of the way I look in it, but I have had complaints of not enough pictures of me. So, here you go.









A nice picture of Kyle by Matt.














Here is my school!! Thanks Matt for the picture.

















This is our favourite cafe that just opened by our house. You can see me enjoying my Kiwi Vinegar. Again, thanks Matt for the photo. There are definitely more photos with me in them since Matt came. Thanks!










This is us out for some chicken soup. You can see Andrew's leg in the corner of the photo and Matt is taking the picture!









This is the chicken soup that we had. It is a whole little chicken in a bowl of hot broth. The chicken is stuffed with rice. It does taste a little bland, but when you dump the salt dip into it and add some pepper it is really good. Picture courtesy of Matt Brouwer





Peppers drying on the sidewalk









A lovely sign that you can find here in Wonju. Are we living with Cannibals?










A photo Matt took of the sunset from our roof.

Funny Video

Hey Mom and Dad and anyone else who owns a cat....

I am sure you will appreciate these two videos. I thought they were pretty funny.

Also, nothing major happened yesterday. Kyle and I played badminton in the morning before work and took some pictures. Work was just a regular day. The girl in my adult class is now finished because she is moving to Seoul to live in dorms and finish her degree. She is really excited about it. Other than that, nothing new yesterday, just the same old stuff. Kyle is sleeping right now even though the alarm went off 45 minutes ago. I think I am going to go wake him up.

We have decided that we are going into Seoul this weekend for sure. We will go to Namdaemun to buy a lens and then we will go to Technomart just to say we did it and walk around. It is massive. I will try and take a picture of it for you.



Slacking on the Blog Front

Monday, August 25, 2008

Hey All!!

Sorry I have been completely slacking on the blog front of things. I have just been adding pictures with little blurbs and nothing else. So, I think I have waited so long to write that I have forgotten a lot of the stuff I wanted to write about. Not too happy about that. So... I guess I will write and see what comes to mind.

From the looks of things, you can see that Kyle and I did decide to purchase our camera. We went with the Canon Rebel xsi (450D) and we are loving it. Well... i am loving and Kyle is seeing me love it. He wants to get more into taking pictures, but hasn't had the time since he has been playing badminton with Matt and I have been taking pictures.

It is starting to cool down here and the days are getting shorter. It is nice because we can finally go outside without passing out from heat exhaustion in under 5 seconds. There have been a couple nights where we have the aircon on in the apartment and I have been sitting around in a hoodie (or bunnyhug for all you SK folk), sweats and slippers. Yes, I did bring myfluffy white slippers from home. I had to make room for them! It has made our adventures outside and around much more bearable as well and makes us want to get out more. Before it was just so humid and hot all the time that we wanted to stay inside.

Teaching is going well. I took some new pictures of my students that I will post on here in a just a little while. My 1-A class seems to be growing in size by the day and with that, growing in difficulty to teach. I now have a class of eight instead of 4 and half of which don't know the alphabet yet. Yuna, my once difficult student, has become one of my favourite students in that class because she is so helpful with the new students and explaining things to them for me. My new students have just entered the first grade, so they are extreme beginners with English. Really cute though! I don't have pictures of the new ones yet since I took the pics over a week ago and they joined the class all last week and today. Yuna came in to class today with a fractured arm. Couldn't figure out why, basically with all the hand motioning and the grunts and the weird sounds that she was making trying to explain to me, I concluded that she, much like myself, is very clumsy and just fell. She took the wrap off of her arm in class and couldn't get it back on, so I had to do it for her and now that class is calling me "doctor teacher". I signed her arm wrap as well with a '"get well soon" and a little heart (since the more cutesy things are here the better). She loved it.

1-B and I are also finding our groove and they are learning what acceptable classroom behaviours are. It has been really nice getting to know my students in that class a little more. I still have trouble with the girl Cindy and the boy Tyler upsetting each other, hitting each other, distracting each other, liking each other, sitting too close to each other, picking on other students, etc, etc, etc. It never seems to stop with those two. I told them that they were no longer allowed to sit together, but they seem to think that just means beside each other, so now they sit across from each other and kick each other and all the above still. Not sure what to do with them.

I think a lot of my changes in thought with my classes is that I finally have textbooks for all my classes and not just dialogue books. You have no idea how awful and boring those dialogue books are. They exhaust me and the kids hate them and never use the language from them.

My 2-A class has grown as well. I know have two new girls in that class, Lucy and Emily. They are extremely smart and extremely sweet. They have great pronunciation and have helped my shy girl, Angela, come out of her shell a little bit. Max, a boy in that class, is a handful with his constant sounds, farting, talking/reading really slow or really fast or high pitched or really low pitched, throwing things, playing with things, sleeping, distracting the rest of the class, etc. He is the class clown, but he drains me everyday. You can tell by the picture I will post of him that he likes to show off and is most definitely a typical young boy who has no way to get rid of his excess energy. When I am busy talking to the other teachers, since I have a ten minute break before my 2-A class, and the time to start class comes along, Lucy will come out and say "come teacher" and she will grab my hand and take me to class.

The other teachers have told me, for my students, that my students love me. It really helps the being here thing as well. I think I will be sad to leave a few of my students when I go, but overall I will be glad to be back in Canada. My students are already trying to convince me to stay and so is y boss.

2-B is still as rowdy as ever. I love them though. We do a lot of acting in that class and I love seeing how creative they get with it. One of the boys, about age 10, has started smoking and I am heartbroken when I see him do it. There is no age limit here on buying cigarettes, so a ten year old can go in a buy them for themself (since they are only $1 per pack basically) if the store owner decides they want to give them to the child. Make me angry when I think about it.

3-A has grown as well. I have one new student in there and they all keep changing their names on me. The girls like to confuse me by always picking names that sound the same. First I had, Hilary, Hannah and Heather, then it became Anna, Alisa and Ashley, and now it is Christine, Kristin and Caitlin. Gah. They tire me out and seem to enjoy when I can never keep their names straight.

3-C is still the same. Nothing new on that front. The adult class is going well. I was supposed to teach them tonight, but they did not come. The girl in the class is moving to Seoul next week to finish her art degree at university. She is really excited. She asked me if I will still be teaching when she is off for Christmas and I told her I would be, so she is making sure to come and do classes with me during her break. She is so sweet. I like her alot. We are close to the same age and have quite a bit in common, but I wish we could communicate a little better. I guess that's why I'm here!!

So, all in all school is going well.

A couple weeks ago we went to Namdaemun market in Seoul, which is where we bought the camera, and it was so busy there. I get so exhausted when we go into Seoul. We also went to Coex Mall and it was even busier there. We were thinking we would go to the aquarium, but when we saw the line up of like 200 people outside of the aquarium, we decided against it. We just left the mall and came home. We saw the World Trade building for Seoul and it was gi-normous. The elevator was so high that your ears were popping immediately after getting in. We are heading back into Seoul again soon for another Costco trip and Kyle and I are going to buy a lens or two for our camera. Will let you know how that goes.

A new coffee shop opened by our house and we are in love with it. The name is really funny though "Cafe The Mary Jane". Ha. We giggle whenever we see the signs. Whenever we go there we always get free stuff like truffles or doughnuts or these amazing tomatoes (the best seasoned in oil baby tomatoes I have ever had). She laughs because I always ask for them when I come and I eat them so fast. She ends up bringing like 4 bowls of them. So yummy. I really like the drinks there too. I always get something called a "Kiwi Vinegar" and it is just like a sour kiwi drink. It has a great atmosphere with big comfy arm chairs and decor like home and they play great music too. Really feels like sitting at a coffee shop at home... just wish I could have my girlfriends here to enjoy it with me. I miss you girls!!

One last thing... then I am going to stop typing. We had our first anniversary and it was a lot of fun. We scrounged up 18,000 Won ($18) and decided we were going to do our whole anniversary on that. We went to Paris Baguette and bought a garlic baguette (2200W) and some sparkling apple juice(5000W) (since Champagne could not be afforded on our budget), a couple apple danishes (total 2000W) and then went to the grocery store. While there, we bought some herb cheese for our baguette (3900W), some little sparklers (200W) and some cookies (450W). We had some money to spare, but we were happy with our findings. We spent the night at home together and pigged out and since it was our paper anniversary we decided to colour. I printed out some colouring pages at work and brought them home. It was a lot of fun to do that together. We then watched Shawshank Redemption on the compie and I fell asleep.

Anyways, I am going. We miss you and love. Kyle just got home from work and I want to talk to him about his day. Bye for now.

Some Pictures From The New Camera

Sunday, August 24, 2008






A nice picture of the sun shining into the park.















A piece of a branch sitting on the stairs up to the top of the hill in the park.









A pretty flower.













Some hoops that old ladies use when working out. It's kinda like hula hoop, but about 6 feet wide.














This chair provided a really good photo op. I liked it alot.













This is a storage crate sitting in the park by the badminton court. Not sure what is in it.











This is the wall that surrounds the park. I have convinced myself that massive evil tarantulas live in the holes and will jump out at me and bite me if I don't pay attention... so I am super cautious walking past them.











This leaf looked amazing with the footprint water-marked into it. So, I just had to take a picture of it.









This is one of my favourites from the day. I love the angles and how everything just lines up.















This tree just looked really cool. Glad the picture turned out because I got a bunch of fly bites walking over to take it.














This is a hole in the wire fence that someone tried to patch up. I edited the colours and think it looks pretty cool.














I saw this tiny leaf lying on the ground with dew on it and I loved the way the lines in the cement drew your eye right to it. I couldn't decide if I liked it better in colour or black and white. I posted the other options on facebook.












When I saw this beat up badminton birdie I thought it would make a good picture. Personally, I love this photo. I call it "Death of a Badminton Birdie"












Some of the leafs here are starting to fall and change colour and this one really stood out against the sand on the badminton court.








A leaf I saw with dew on it.








A picture of a leaf with dew on it that I snapped right on the way home from the park. I love this picture.

Happy One Year Anniversary

Monday, August 18, 2008

Today is our one year anniversary!! I can't believe it has been a year since our wedding. We don't really have any plans since we only have $55 for the next two weeks till payday, but we will celebrate probably by being home and watching a movie together or something like that. When we get back to Canada we are planning a vacation, so that will be like a second honeymoon!! Happy Anniversary to us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Swimming at Chiaksan

Thursday, August 14, 2008

Dak Galbi


This is Dak Galbi. It is a bunch of cabbage, leaves, rice cakes (not the same as home) and chicken stir-fried in red pepper paste. It is pretty spicy, but it definitely tastes really good. This is when the first bring it so nothing is mixed or cooked yet and we cook it ourselves in the middle of our table. One of the traditional foods we really like.








Kyle is just about to start eating our Dak Galbi. This is how it looks when it is cooked. Much different than when we started.













Matt is enjoying some rice cakes. They are my favourite part of Dak Galbi, well that and the burnt on sauce afterward.















Kyle is starting to overheat from the 35 degree weather outside and the spicy food in his tummy.











It was yummy. We ate pretty much all of it.











This is the praying mantis we found outside of E-Mart. He is stuck on the wall. I thought he was some sort of leaf at first, then he moved.

Costco Trip

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Kyle and I have been really craving North American food lately so when Matt got here, we decided it was time to go into Seoul and buy our very first Costco cards. Yes, they do have Costco here in Korea and the food we got from Costco has never tasted so good. We started our morning off at around 8am getting the bus into Seoul. It only costs us $9CDN to take the 2 hours bus into the city. It’s a good deal. You can’t get in there for any cheaper no matter which mode of transportation you take. We sat on the bus for a while and could definitely tell when we were
getting closer and closer to the city. The smog was getting thicker and more abundant.

We arrived at the bus station and since Laura, a friend from Prov, was not there yet, we decided to explore a little. We seem to have this thing with always arriving in the “old” areas of stations. Like when we first came to Wonju and we arrived in the “old” bus station, well again, we arrived in the older area of the bus station in Seoul and it wasn’t very nice. Also, the cicadas were so loud that it was almost deafening. To kill time and to get away from the cicadas, we went down some stairs and found a massive underground mall that has two hallways in each direction that run parallel to each other. These hallways seem to never end when you are walking down them as well. To not get lost, we decided to just pick one hallway and walk down it and back again. We found that there were more “intersections” of hallways the further down you went. We got a call from Laura saying that she had arrived and we headed back up to sea level and met up with her. From there, we went to the newer station and got some money out of the ATM’s and headed to the subway stations. We bought subway cards and got on and headed to the electronics district of Seoul. It was pretty insane. For anyone who wants a good deal on a computer, Nikon camera and
accessories, canon camera and accessories, and really any electronic you can think of, this is most definitely the place to go. There are vendors pretty much stuff into these little booths side by side each other and selling the exact same product. So, you can imagine the competition. After about a couple hours of walking around, Matt found the lens he was looking for a basically got in for $200-$300 cheaper than stores at home.

After that, we met up with another friend from Prov, Krista and headed to Costco. Kyle and I filled out the information and both got cards (since married couples only have to pay for one card and they each get one and then can bring in 3 people each, we quickly decided that was the best route to take). We walked around, I GOT REAL DILL PICKLES, and everyone got everything they were looking for. It was frustrating at the same time because Koreans have not mastered the art of shopping with big shopping carts in a bulk store. They will push their carts and then see something they want and wander off in that direction while their cart is either left dead in the middle of the aisle or left drifting alone in the most inconvenient places. Rather frustrating. After we checked out, we were able to have a Costco hotdog meal. Kyle was so incredibly happy about that one. He has been going through major hotdog withdrawal since being here.

After eating, we went back upstairs in Costco and stopped to take everything out of our carts and pack it into the backpacks and suitcases we brought with us from home. It was definitely a challenge walking through Seoul and standing on the subway (since it is so busy and people are packed in there like sardines) with about 2000lbs (not really, but a lot of weight) of groceries on our backs. We were thankful to finally make it back to the bus station and with minutes to spare, we made it back onto the bus and headed home. We have been enjoying Western foods for the past while. Matt notices the quality of the foods from Costco and says it kinda tastes like the cheap versions from home, but to Kyle and I having not had anything Western in three months, it tastes like the most amazing cheese, snacks, hotdogs, etc that we have ever had. I think we will be doing a Costco trip once a month to get some Western foods and meet up with friends who are in the city.

We were supposed to meet up with more friends, but as soon as they texted me to find out our location my phone battery died. I was so mad.

Chiaksan Pictures

Monday, August 11, 2008






These dragons were on each side of the bridges on the mountain. Their heads were at the top and they had full bodies that wrapped around and stretched to the ground under the bridge. The detail in them was amazing.













This is one of the Buddha statues at the bottom of the mountain. There is a whole temple at the bottom.














This is the waterfall and green pond without Kyle and I standing in front of it.














This is the super cute and friendly cat that I met on the way past one of the Buddhist tents. He is so soft. I was close to getting a good picture of him, but he really seemed to want to bathe himself. All the Koreans were running away from him and I was running to him.









Self portrait at the green water and waterfall. This is the area you are not allowed to swim in because people are praying to the waterfall.









One of the massive butterflies that you can see here in Wonju but in great quantities out at Chiaksan. You can hear them moving their wings. (Darcie... I know you love this one!)














This is one of Matt's pictures from the top of the mountain. Next time I will make it up there myself.














This is another one of Matt's pictures from the top of the mountain. The city you see there is Wonju.



 
...Adventures of K & A... - by Templates para novo blogger