Land of the Morning Calm???????

Thursday, May 29, 2008

Hello!!!!!!!!!

TODAY IS PAYDAY!!!!!!!!!! Yippee!!! Well, I am somewhat excited because we will have money to actually live again, but also excited because we get to put our first big payment on our loans!! We are doing the TD Student Line of Credit first (since it is the biggest). We were laying awake in bed last night thinking about finally putting the money on these loans and we got so excited that we couldn't sleep!! Well, we just came out and watched TV for a bit more until we forgot about it and went back to bed.

Korea is known as "The Land of the Morning Calm." Really? I have been thoroughly annoyed these past few mornings. There is a new apartment building going up right next to ours. Well, in normal places, construction is not allowed to start until after a certain hour and they do not do construction on the weekends. This is not the case. These workers start their construction around 5-6am, banging on things, cutting things, throwing things, etc and not to mention the massive trucks that seem to have to rev their engines right by our window every few minutes. Why would we not close the window you ask?? Because it is so hot!! If we closed the window, I am sure that we would cook from inside out in our little apartment. So, thus we try and sleep through the noise. Kyle is able to sleep with earplugs in, so he is having a better sleep that I have been. I cannot sleep with something stuck in my ears. I always dream that they are bugs and I end up taking them out. Morning Calm?? I think not!!

I think we are headed into Seoul this weekend. Not sure if it is Saturday or Sunday, but we are going as long as plans don't change last minute (like the do so often). Also, tomorrow morning I am going to the LG store to buy myself a straightener. I feel so bad borrowing Terri's all the time. I am going to buy a Korea one so that it will not blow up on me again.

I am happy to be here, but at the same time there are so many things I miss about being home. I miss family and friends of course. Oh, and my kitties. I only talk about them all the time. I miss going to the grocery store and understanding what I am buying to eat, I miss people understanding me and me understanding them, I miss having a couch and I nice house to come home to. I know, this is all for the better and when we are done here our doors are open to so much more in terms of maybe buying a house or pretty much anything we want since we will be virtually debt free. I don't know, I don't think I am necessarily homesick right now, but I just miss the things I took for granted at home; like cheese, knowing where I am going, knowing which bugs are dangerous and which ones are not (they all look pretty freaky out here) and other stuff.

Speaking of bugs, we went walking on Sunday (we were babysitting Zak while Terri and Aarin went to the store) and we went up one of the big hills by our house. We heard there was some makeshift work out thingy at the top. So, we took Zak up there with us to investigate this. He had fun. On the way up I saw my first Korean spider. Now, I wasn't thinking much of it since it was fairly small, but as we got closer to the spider, it lifted up its front legs and ran from side to side facing us on the stair. Weirdest thing ever. It was kinda freaky, so we squished it. At least I haven't seen a Tarantula yet. Yes, they have them here. I do plan on going the entire year without encountering one.

Well, that it's for now. We miss you all.

0 comments:



 
...Adventures of K & A... - by Templates para novo blogger