Some pictures and a video

Friday, December 19, 2008







This is Hannah.









A common occurence at ELC day... Rock, Paper, Scissors "The Ultimate Decider". Very Korean.









Singing "We Wish You a Merry Christmas"









This is Alice. One of my absolute favourite students along with the next girl.








This is Sophia. She is absolutely gorgeous. She alone will make me cry when I leave.









Sara running at me to give me a hug. I love this picture.








Kids from my 1B class waiting to rehearse. From the left: Yuna, Sin-Jay, Alex and Sara.








Two girls practicing before the parents arrived.










Me and Sophia near the end of the night. Sorry its blurry.

Torn...

Dongdaemun Market, DVD Bong, Coffee Shops, sleeping at Kristas and church

Alright... I will quickly update you on the things I said I would last time. We went to Dongdaemun Market and if you ever need a great place for shopping that is the place. Wall-to-wall clothes, literally, and floors of it. Each building has about 9 floors and there are like 5 floors of women's clothes, 2-3 floors of men's clothes and 2-3 floors of accessories. Amazing. If you can stand the crowds, the prices are great and the selection is endless. We also went to a DVD Bong. It's basically a place where people go to make out in the country, but we went with a bunch of friends and we rented a room with its own screen and we picked a movie. We crowded onto the huge couch and watched a movie together. You get to have a private screening of any movie you choose. It's great way to beat the "cold" and hang out with friends when you are all exhausted. It's also quite entertaining to hear all the other movies playing around you if they are turned up too loud. We had a few good laughs.

We went to some great coffee shops in Seoul and we went to Butterfingers for lunch one day. It was soooooooooooooooooooo good. And definitely well worth the wait. It's an American chain and we may have gotten high off of the paint fumes since it was just built, but it was great. Kyle ordered a soup and salad combo for one and out came this massive salad that was literally a whole head of lettuce. Ha. We all had to pick at it. I, of course, had French Toast. It was delicious, but I still think my Mom's is way better. Nothing like home cooking :)

I can't remember if I wrote about it, but one Sunday we went to the second church service and went out for Canadian brunch at the Alberta pub before hand. Yummy.

This weekend we are going to a Christmas Gala that our church is putting on as a fundraiser to help rebuild 13 or so churches in Orissa, India and 2 orphanges. Since we are not doing Christmas presents this year, only stockings with our friends, we are going to donate some money to this. We are happy with our decision. I will take pictures and post them when we get back.

We just had our ELC Christmas show for the parents. It was a lot of work, but it was so much fun. I am so proud of my kiddies. I was watching them and could not stop smiling (between being extremely nervous for them). I realized during it that I was really going to miss them. Leaving here is going to be extremely bittersweet. I love my job and the people that I work with and the kids, I can't even begin to describe it, but even thinking about saying bye to them breaks my heart right now. My boss wants me to stay and so do all my coworkers. I miss my home though.... ugh. This is so much harder than I thought it would be in every way possible. Tonight my heart is torn. I had so much fun with them today at work and my boss tonight basically begged me to stay saying all the kids love me and keep telling her that they don't want me to go, and that the other teachers love me and they don't think the place will be the same without me and that they will never really be able to replace me completely.... breaks my heart because I will never be able to replace them and part of me will definitely stay behind with them. I need to change topics....

Anyways, I will post videos and pictures of the kids from ELC day. Matt and I made ourselves the unoffical photographers of the evening and got quite the collection of photos. I love my kids. At one point during the night Sophia came up to me and jumped on my lap and wrapped my arms around her and we sat there listening to the Christmas music together. She is so sweet. I love that girl. Ugh....... so hard to even describe it all.

We had both ELC campuses together for the event and the other campus' kids were the first to arrive. They walked in the door and were shocked and just stared at us since they had never seen us before. They immediately starting saying that Matt was better looking than their teacher. :) Funny kids. Then we waited for our kids to come and when they came in they came running towards us screaming and I ran around playing with them and I had so much fun. Okay, I am going to stop now. We love and miss you guys so much.

We will make a video of Tim Tam Slams for you and post it, description does not do it justice.

Tuesday, December 9, 2008


Me and two of my favourite girls. I will miss them so much when we come home. Sophia and Alice from my 1A class.

Also, wearing my sweater Kyle gave me for birthday and my new scarf.

My Birthday

Monday, December 8, 2008

It was my birthday a little while ago and I didn't want to spend it just doing what we normally do, so I invited the girls out. That kinda sounds bad like I am saying Kyle wouldn't have made it special, but he would have for sure. I just crave girl time a lot since being here. On Friday, I worked and it didn't really seem like a birthday because I spent it being frustrated at some of my classes and rushing around getting ready for ELC Christmas Day and being away from Kyle. My students were so surprising though. I was given so many present. I got like 7 things for my cell phone (little decorations that hang from it that I probably won't use because they can't get really annoying), ear muffs, 4 pairs of socks, candy, a scarf, chocolates, a necklace, a bag, a hair clip, some hair ties, fruit forks, and a bunch of other things. Gabrielle said that she had never seen a teacher get so many presents from her students. I also got a few love notes from my kids. It was great. With one of my presents came the note:

"Hellow. Happy Birthday Amy Theacher. This is small present of call phone ring. It is small but I congraulations you. That is wrong. Sorry. Love Tim."

I love how he corrects himself by saying "that is wrong". He is 8 years old. So, I was pretty impressed with his English in the note. They always can make me smile even though I get so frustrated with them sometimes. I am really starting to realize how much I will really miss those kids when I go home. A part of me is going to stay here with them. I will make sure they all have my email address so that I can get little funny notes from them all the time. :)

We went out for drinks at Beer Plus the night of my birthday. They have the best nachos in town. It's sad, I crave western food so much sometimes that I go there quite often and they know me and what I will order. Oops. Eating out here is very cheap though.

The next day, the girls came out. I was so happy. We went shopping at the outlet mall in Wonju and bought a few things. Kyle bought me two sweaters for my birthday. They are the first articles of clothing that I bought in Korea. Since then.... I have bought a couple more things. He has opened pandoras shopping box. Oh well....

Later on, we went to pick up Steph at the bus terminal. Kyle and I were cold in the terminal since it has been rather cold here lately, well, not anymore, but it was cold. So we decided to stay warm by playing "line tag" in the bus terminal. It was so funny. Some old woman was watching and I think she thought that Kyle was trying to hurt me and I was running away. In truth, I think I was the more violent player... bending and breaking the rules as I needed :P He was cheating so there was no other way around it than to push him off of the line, tag him and run away.... ha ha ha. We went out for Dak Galbi that night with the girls and then we came back to the apartment and played Killer Bunnies and did TimTam Slams. So good. I will introduce you if you don't know what they are when we come home.

We stayed up late playing games and talking and then the next day we went shopping at Rodeo Drive and had ice cream at Baskin Robbins. We proceeded to have pizza after ice cream and then we headed to the Cafe The Mary Jane after that and had coffee. It was so much fun. It was actually the cafe owner's husband's birthday that day too. So she gave our table half of his birthday cake to celebrate my birthday. I love the people at that cafe. The husband and wife who run the cafe are having a baby this week. They are by far the cutest couple I know in Wonju, besides Kyle and myself of course ;)

Then we had to say bye to the girls. They headed back to the city and I missed them immediately. Kyle and I got in our PJ's (it was only like 5:00pm) and laid in bed watching movies the rest of the night. It was a great birthday. Sometimes it even felt like we were back at home. I am so thankful for friends here and for being able to get to know Steph. She has become a great friend of mine and I love her. She is amazing.

Next time, I will write about the happenings of this weekend.... Seoul again, Dongdaemun Market, DVD Bong, Coffee Shops, sleeping at Kristas and church. Kyle and I are sponsoring a child from an orphanage here in Korea this Christmas. Also, since we don't plan on doing much for Christmas, we are going to a Christmas Gala to donate towards Churches in Orissa, India that we destroyed last year by extremists. Money donated will help to rebuild those churches. We couldn't think of a better way to give our money this year than to attend that and to sponsor a child by getting them Christmas presents (kind of like a shoe box at home).

I will also tell you about our other Christmas plans with our friends. I can't believe its Kyle's birthday in 10 days and it is almost Christmas and it is still 11 degrees outside. Weird.

Much love!!!!!!!

100th post minus $1000

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

If we were to transfer home $5000 right now... we would lose $1065. OUCH!

Worst it's been yet.

Short Form

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Quick Update....

- we went to a Canadian/Albertan pub in Gangnam in Seoul. It was great to be with good friends. We forgot where we were for a while because of the company and the atmosphere. It was nice.

- the won has gotten expectantly worse. It cost us over $100 extra to send home $500 the other day. We are now officially only sending home minimum payments till the end.

- 5 months to go!! We will be home to see everyone!!

- My birthday is on friday and the girls are coming in from Seoul to celebrate with me. Not sure what we are doing yet, but I am happy to have company.

- We bought a Christmas tree. A fake one from E-Mart. It comes up to my waist and we decorated it. Thought buying a tree would make it easier to be away from home on Christmas, but it is definitely making us a bit more homesick right now.

- Found Campbells Tomato Soup in a "Gourmet Food Shop" in Coex mall. We laughed... gourmet?? And, they are definitely charging gourmet prices for it too.... $3 a can. Yikes. We didn't buy any this time, but at some point we will.

- Going to venture on making Christmas cookies soon. I got my mom to send me nonbake recipes because we don't have an oven.

- I really like Dak Galbi and pretty much want to eat it every day.

Not sure what else right now... we love and miss you. We will take pictures this weekend and post them for you all to see.

More Pictures....Second Post Today

Wednesday, November 19, 2008





Leaf sitting on a marble staircase











Berries on a tree by Chiak Art Centre

















A shot in the park
















Set the camera in the grass for this one.















Leaves sitting on a bench... shot this from the end of the bench with the camera sitting it. I thought it looked really cool.

















The sunlight was amazing that day











The sun shining through this leaf did all the work. The colours are real!
























Leaves sitting on the cement in a pile

The Korean Won... will it ever get better?

Recently Kyle and I have been watching the exchange rate between the CDN $ and the Korean Won just get worse and worse. I am beginning to wonder if this is ever going to get better or if it is just going to continue to get worse.

It's a really nerve-wracking feeling knowing that if we were to come home today that we would lose thousands of dollars. The point in us coming here was to pay off our student loans and we know that we will not and cannot completely pay them off after one year, but we would have paid enough to give us a leg up in the world when we got back to Canada. To take the stress and anxiety of looming student loan payments off our shoulders.

To put it into perspective... over a month ago the exchange rate was at 1050 Won - $1 CDN and it was prime pickings for us to be transferring money home, so we were. In large amounts and it was so nice to watch our loans disappear from under us. Currently, the exchange rate sits at
1171 won - $1 Cdn and that is just awful. We haven't been able to send home money besides minimum bill payments for the last 2 months and almost 3 now. At this rate we will have a large sum of money to transfer home at the end and we will be losing approx. $4000-$5000. It hurts.

What do you think? Will it get better or worse? What should we do should it drop more?? Many questions floating around right now. No, we are not planning on quitting and coming home, but we just don't want to lose so much money.... ugh. I hate the economy right now. We both do.

Korean Music

Sunday, November 16, 2008

An example of the wonderful music we get to listen to all the time in Korea... Kyle loves it oh-so-very much! We can't wait to hear good music again when we get home.









**This next one is the most popular one right now.....**

Girl Time = Amazing

We just got back from Seoul about 2 hours ago and are exhausted. We had a great time though and every trip we have made in lately has been well worth the 6:15am start so we can catch the bus and get into Seoul on time for church.

We went out with Steph and Derek for lunch at Coex Mall and then wandered around the stores for a little bit. Shopping in Korea is definitely not my cup of tea. If you think that malls are busy in Canada, well, think of boxing day shopping and times that by 100 and then you can imagine the crowds inside the mall. It was amazing though to get together with Steph and I so much appreciate her and being able to talk with a girl about something other than appearance and even just talking to a girl in general. We both have the same feelings, although I assume hers are a little bit more intense. I have Kyle and that is different, but I do sympathize with having to be around guys all the time and never having girl time. I miss it. A lot.

It is just so relieving and so relaxing for me and such a breath of fresh air to have some girl time and to laugh with a girl friend. You take these things for granted when you have them, but trying going for 6 1/2 months with little to no female contact and then you will be starved for it. I love that girl. And Krista and Jennell.

My birthday is coming up in 11 days and I have invited Steph, Jennell and Krista to come out and stay with Kyle and I and celebrate my birthday. I am really looking forward to it. Kyle is used to having lots of girls around so I know that he will be okay :) Not sure what the plan will be, but I am just going to be happy to have some girls around for my birthday.

I also had another annoying experience in the taxi today. When Kyle and I got back from Seoul and were in the taxi back to our apartment I attempted to tell the taxi to stop. He didn't. I said it again and he still didn't stop. He looked in his mirror because he obvisouly heard me speaking, but since there was a male in the car with me he would not stop until Kyle said something or I was really persistent. I finally got him to stop and then he wouldn't even look at me for the taxi fare. I had to basically wave my hand in his face so he would realize that I was the one paying him. I don't have this issue so much if it is just me in the taxi, still somewhat noticeable, but not bad. But when there is a guy in the taxi its like I have no voice. I will not miss that when I go home. It really bothers me somedays. Other days I can make myself ignore it and understand that it is the culture, but I hate being treated like I don't matter.

Anyways, just wanted to let you know how our weekend was. We spent Saturday kinda lazy-ing around the house. Watching hockey and wandering through the outlet mall in the midafteroon. We went out for Dak Galbi and I was excited because they let me have extra Dak Bokki (rice cakes) and it was so good. I am really starting to want to eat more Korean food, which is kinda bad because I will crave it at home even more now than I thought I would. I will definitely miss the food. I am already finding the recipes for things online and I am thinking about what I will send in the mail ahead of me so I can make these meals for you all when we get back. Warning: our spicey sensors have severely diminished since being in Korea, so we hope its not too spicy for you!

Big leaf or Small Head??

Wednesday, November 12, 2008




Is this a big leaf or does Kyle have a small head??

You be the judge!!

Fall in Korea... 3rd Post in 24 hours!!


















A beautiful flower I found in a bush that looked completely dead. This is one of my favourite shots from the whole day.














Leaves hanging from a tree about to fall
















A late blooming flower by the Chiak Art Centre


















A cool shot from Kyle
















Another cool shot from Kyle

















































Halloween Pictures





Kyle and his director Mihwa. Typical "peace" sign and typical "kyle face". I love him.















This is Betty and Kim, two of Kyle's coworkers. They are awesome and so much fun to hang out with outside of work. Love' em.













Kyle and Hee-Ji, you will have to ask Kyle how much he "loves" her....










This is Kyle's cutest student, Gu-Min, not sure if that is spelled right, but we playing "keep the balloon in the air" for like 20 minutes. She had so much fun. Can you tell how shy she is??













Kyle in his grim reaper outfit. Nice face.














This is my most advanced class 3-D, from the left: Lisa, Anna, Misty, Andrew (in the back), Blake (in the back), Amy Kim, Amy Lee, Jason (in the back) and Ashley





This is my 3-A class from the left: Ran, Sue, Ling, Emily, Christine, David (in the back), Billy (in the back), Caitlin and ducked down behind everyone is Nick... he is on the floor hiding and you can't see him.





This is my 2-B class from the left: Julia, Laura, John, Louis (in the back), Matthew, Tom (in the back) and Tim







This is my 2-A Class. From the left: Max, Jason, Tyler, Alice, Charlet and Lucy (my favourite student not in 1-A)








From the left: Anna, Yuna and Sara

Three girls from my 1-B class on Halloween







This is my 1-B class with their masks that they coloured.





The one on the left is Sophia and on the right Alice. Mine and Matt's biggest fan club. They are in my 1-A class. I love them, except when they text me at 5:30am to ask "do you swim?" and then not understand the reply if I was to give them one.... they are the reason for many smile and laughs each day I will miss them the most when I leave for home




This is my 1-A class... my cutest and most favourite students are in this class.









This is Gabrielle. I don't know where I would be without her and all her help. Love this lady!

Halloween & Pepero Day

Since Halloween is not a widely celebrated or participated in holiday out here in Korea, I made sure to give my kids as close to a real "Halloween" experience as possible. They had always been telling me, well for about 3-4 weeks before Halloween, that they wanted to experience Halloween like in North America. I felt bad for the little munchkins when I heard that they had never gone trick or treating before!!

I told them about when I was little and used to take out a pillow case and fill it to the top with candy and eat candy for the next few months... well until my parents would decide the candy had gone bad. I still think they took it and ate it themselves. Also, I know parents have to check their children's candy (especially after hearing about all the tainted candy this year in Ontario) but I think parents totally take advantage of it and steal a bunch of the good candy "to test it". Ha!! Evil. Matt and I also reminisced about the intense candy trading that would go on after one would arrive home... "I'll trade you 3 caramels and a sucker for that bag of chips and a hard candy?" This would go on for days... especially when you would run out of a certain candy or snack that you preferred and your sibling or friends still had many. Maybe sneaking into your sibling's room and finding their candy stash under the drawer in their bed and taking what you desired was a little evil, but sometimes you needed it just that bad... and I... I mean... hypothetically, one doesn't get caught ;)

Anyways, I made my kids say trick or treat at my door to come in and then we made Halloween masks and I gave them lots of candy throughout the class. We also played pin the tail on the black cat. I almost got mobbed a couple of times leaving classroom with the candies because they figured out saying "trick or treat" gets the candy from the bowl into their mouths.... it was fun. The kids had never heard of "pin the tail on the donkey" so my game was a huge hit and they laughed so much. I would spin them about 20 times and then point them in the wrong direction... when they felt the door they would turn around and say "TEEEEEEEEAAAAACHER!!!!" I laughed hysterically to myself the whole day. One kid even pinned the tail to my penguin calendar which is on the opposite wall from where the cat was.

The next day we had Halloween at Kyle's work. It was done on a Saturday and I went down with Kyle to keep him company. I ended up doing a whole bunch of balloon jack-o-lanterns and then I got suckered into face painting. I was quickly put to shame by Ryan (Kyle's coworker from Scotland who finished his contract today and flew home an hour ago) who has a degree in art. I held my own, but he was definitely one-upping me the whole time. It was fun. Kyle was dressed up as well, more forced to dress up, as a Korean Grim Reaper. This only consisted of him wearing a black robe that came down to his knees and a funny looking wire hat that hurt his head. He looking nothing like a grim reaper. Phil, the new guy from England, was forced to be a clown in a one piece... so funny, Andrew was dressed up like Jet-Li (definitely forced and he took of his fake hair every second the director was not around) and Ryan just refused to put on his costume.

One kid saw me from the back sitting in the computer lab printing some stuff for activities and thought I was one of the teachers wearing a blonde wig, so he came in to see my costume and when he saw it was someone he didn't know he jumped like a foot backwards and didn't move or saying anything. Then ran out to tell someone I was in there and Kyle told him I was his wife, the kid wouldn't leave me alone after that. It was nice to meet some more of Kyle's student's though. His kids are definitely more a handful than my own... no doubt.

But that was Halloween. I didn't get any candy. I got candy yesterday because it was "Pepero" day, which is a day that a chocolate company made up to sell more chocolates. I got about 15 boxes of the chocolate covered wafer sticks and a bunch of large single ones... quite the stash. I am sick of eating them though, so I am slowly going to take them back to work as if I bought them and give them to the kids as rewards.

Jennell was out on the weekend. It was great to have her out. So relaxing. We went out for lunch at a local restuarant here and then we went to watch the new James Bond movie. I liked it even though all the reviews are awful. Everyone I went with liked it.... so I don't think its that bad. I can see if you are a hardcore Bond fan that you may not like it, but it was good. Then we came home, sat around and chatted and Jennell and I played Nintendo DS against each other. SO MUCH FUN! I have been playing by myself since I bought it but she bought one after trying mine so now we can play together when she comes out. We went out for coffee at our favourite coffee shop and had freshly baked chocolate cake (single cakes that they bake for you when you get there) and hot chocolate. The next day we spent the entire day taking pictures. It was a lot of fun. I will post Halloween pictures and some fall pictures right after this.

Well... there is another long awaited update. Next time, I will try to talk about how I am tired of male taxi drivers not listening to me because I am female, plastic surgery in Korea and I will post you a video of one of the most popular Korean songs right now so you can fully understand the "cutesie-ness" and "annoying-ness" and "some other descriptive word I can't think of right now" music and commercials and everything we see and hear everyday.

Love and miss you all. 170 days to go!!!! And the exchange rate still sucks!

Pictures from the Zoo

Sunday, November 2, 2008



There is a huge gash in the monkey's arm here... hard to see, but you can really understand how little care these animals get.




This is my favourite picture of the day. Really grasps the feeling that you can see in the eyes of the animals. Their cages are so small and there is no one tending to them at all while people poke and tease them one after another. Heart breaking. This Malaysian Sun Bear was so hard to look at. He cried and growled a lot.

This little guy was very curious/frightened of my camera. When I would pull it out he would come over and look and then swim away quickly and stay away till I put it away and then repeated. So cute.















A sample of the beautiful fall colours out here right now... breathtaking when you see the mountains covered in these colours.









A giraffe kissing his net of food











Cute Meerkat.... I love these things. Could be from my obsession with "The Lion King" when I was really young...












The ostrich that you could definitely tell was being fed by the zoo patrons.... it followed you everywhere along the fence and answered to your whistle



 
...Adventures of K & A... - by Templates para novo blogger