Monday, March 9, 2009
Well... the reason I haven't posted in a while is because when I went to do it my mind suddenly was preoccupied with something else. After a trip to the clinic we found out that.... we are pregnant. Kyle and I are 7 weeks pregnant and the baby will be born in late October.
After I found out, I wasn't really able to write about anything on here because that's really all that's been on our minds lately. We are super excited, but also really anxious to get home and be able to see an English speaking doctor. The doctor we see hear barely speaks English and the stuff that he does speak is pronounced very strangely and takes us a while to understand.
We went for a checkup last week on Tuesday and heard the baby's heart beat. Kyle had the biggest smile on his face. Usually here they don't let the husband come in the room with the wife and see/experience anything because guys here don't want to and it's just really uncommon. But, the doctor understood the second time we went that I want/need Kyle there with me and accepted the fact that we foreigners and it's different for us.
I haven't been that sick as of yet. A couple time last week in the morning, but I am still figuring out what my body will and won't allow me to eat. I can't eat yogurt right now. Make me sick... really fast. I really can only eat peanut butter toast in the mornings. I don't mind. But, I am craving Cap'n Crunch Cereal and they don't have it out here.... very sad :(
It is also really hard to avoid smells that make me feel sick out here because there are such strong smells everywhere, one in particular is the smell of Kimchi. Thinking about it even triggers my gag reflex. Yuck.
We are both well... and we are both excited. We can't wait to come home and see everyone. Only 38 more working days to go!!
On another note... work is good. Well, as good as it can be for Kyle. He has a new coworker who is from South Africa and her and her husband are Christian and our age, so we have been hanging out with them a lot. It's been amazing and uplifting for us to have them here. Nice to have another married couple our age who have the same sense of humour and enjoy the same stuff. We had them over for dinner last night and it was great. Kyle made his specialty - spaghetti - and we just hung out and chatted and played some killer bunnies.
My work is good.... I am getting tired of it a little these days. I just seem to be picking things apart that I don't even want to and getting annoyed with them. I blame it on the hormones and since I am tired more often now, I just feel like the days are dragging on. I still love my kids and coworkers though and I am so happy to be here and to have done this, but there comes a time when everyone wants to come home :)
We told our families today that we are pregnant. Kyle's Dad was "tickled pink", his Mom screamed in excitement, my Mom was speechless and then couldn't stay still on the webcam cause she was so excited, and my Dad threatened to punch Kyle... but was really excited about it.
Side note: my Dad broke his leg last night or the night before in a hockey game. Some guy tried to fight my Dad and fell on my Dad's leg and now it is broken in two spots, one right below the knee and the other behind the ankle. The ankle one is bad, he basically shattered his bone and is getting surgery on it tomorrow. JP's Dad is also going in for surgery tomorrow on his neck for his cancer, so there is a lot going on. Prayers are more than welcome!!! I didn't believe my Dad when he told me about his leg, but once he showed me on the webcam I had to believe him. Silly Dad. So, now my Dad is off work for 8 weeks. Not good during a recession and when my Mom is going to school, I am worried about them. Hopefully he will get sick pay.
Hmm.... well I am going to run and watch criminal minds reruns and eat some food. Love to you all. I will add pictures from a while ago to here soon.
